305 Railroad Ave Suite 5 Nevada City, CA. (530)265-0186

Developmentally Disabled Adult Care Facility

In California, there are two distinct types of care facilities that serve
the needs of Developmentally Disabled Adults. These different
facilities depend on the type of care required by the disabled adult,
and are classified as follows:


Intermediate care facility/developmentally disabled–nursing is a
facility with a capacity of 4 to 15 beds that provides 24-hour
personal care, developmental services, and nursing supervision for
developmentally disabled persons who have intermittent recurring
needs for skilled nursing care but have been certified by a
physician and surgeon as not requiring continuous skilled nursing

These types of facilities serve medically fragile persons (dependent
adults) who have developmental disabilities or demonstrate
significant developmental delay that may lead to a developmental
disability if not treated. Typically, these types of facilities are
housed in a nursing home or other type of skilled nursing facility
with elder patients.

Intermediate nursing care facilities for the developmentally disabled
are licensed and overseen by the Department of Public Health's
Center for Health Care Quality (CHCQ), which is responsible for the
regulatory oversight of health care facilities to secure safe,
effective and quality healthcare for all. CHCQ evaluates health care
facilities for compliance with state laws and regulations, and also
investigates complaints or inappropriate or illegal conduct, as well
as certifies health care facilities' compliance with federal laws and

Complaints about an intermediate nursing care facility can be made
to the California Department of Public Health, Licensing and
Certification Division, through their website at www.cdph.ca.gov.
All licensed health care facilities are listed on the Office of
Statewide Health Planning and Development's website, www.oshpd.
ca.gov. This list is updated as of June 30 and December 31 of
each year.